Drops: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard

By Andrew Brassington


Melbourne 7-piece psych rockers ‘King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard’ have just dropped their 9th studio album in 5 years. The record is titled ‘Flying Microtonal Banana’, named after front man Stu Mackenzie’s customised guitar that includes micro frets allowing access to notes that don’t exist in modern Western music. The entire band had to modify their instruments to accommodate this, and it creates a unique sound that stands out in their vast catalogue.

The track listing contains a wide variety of mind-blowing tunes, from the acid funk of ‘Anoxia’ to the spaghetti Western bushranger imagery behind ‘Billabong Valley’. Standout tracks also include the dynamic ‘Melting’ and the slow burning psych rock of ‘Nuclear Fusion’.

The boys are playing a few dates in Melbourne to support the release. Hopefully a national tour will follow shortly, but the guys are busy knuckling down to finish the 4 other albums they’re due to release this year.

Track list

  1. Rattlesnake
  2. Melting
  3. Open Water
  4. Sleep Drifter
  5. Billabong Valley
  6. Anoxia
  7. Doom City
  8. Nuclear Fusion
  9. Flying Microtonal Banana


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s